Why I think Instagram is stupid

Really? Don't get it.

Really? Don’t get it.

Instagram is the new thing for teenagers these days. Almost everyone has it. And the effects are dangerous for the society. Some people are on it 24/7 and will do anything to get more followers. Some people report that maintaining an account is too difficult, and takes too much time. And frankly, we all know most of the challenges are stupid. Or, at least they’re not my idea of fun.

Independent studies show that Instagram can make you depressed, and I agree with them. You could get caught up in being jealous of people, stalk your friends, or just plain mourn the fact that someone unfollowed you. Also, a lot of people let random people follow them, which defeats the purpose of a private account–if it’s even private. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want random people to see my photos. Do you? What a lot of people don’t realize is that your followers can stalk you. They can who you follow, your followers, and your posts. I think that’s kinda creepy, and if I follow a friend with a public account, anyone can see that I follow her. I don’t want that. I like my privacy, thank you very much.

Do you love to be seen in the public? Do you like it when your name comes up in google searches? If so, then Instagram is for you. However, most of us do enjoy a certain degree of privacy–don’t give it away.

7 thoughts on “Why I think Instagram is stupid

  1. Interesting points you bring up here… Similar things could be said about almost any social media platform in fact.

    PS. You can still enjoy your privacy on social media… just don’t use your real name and be smart about what you post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ya if you’re just careful with what you post and don’t let random people follow (like I do) you’ll be fine. Also, I don’t understand how people can stand knowing that random people can see their account. Still, Instagram is the only social media I have and I’m not planning on getting anymore. Plus, aren’t Instagram and Pinterest almost the same?

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, Instagram is more self-centered. Also, Pinterest is for crafty people and you can make a board, but not an account private. And you can’t block people(but why would you, since you’re just posting crafts?

      Like

Leave a Reply

