Thoughts on Getting Accepted to CHS

I’m going to be a CHS lit art student next year. I feel really good about that. I really wanted to go there. But really, it means a lot more to me that just the arts program.

In so many ways, going to CHS , in my life, is very symbolic. It symbolizes going full circle, in a number of ways. I started school in that neighbourhood. I’m going to finish in that neighbourhood. That’s insanely cool, considering the fact that I live 20km away now. I’ve always belonged there. Going to JMSS wouldn’t be the same. It’s true, I’ve met at lot of people this year. And JM is my home high school, and all my new friends are going there. Some of them are actually sad about the fact that I won’t be going to high school with them. And I’ll miss them terribly. But honestly? I’ve only known them for a few months. And I don’t belong with them. It’s true. The energy is just, so different in this part of town. I don’t like this energy. It stirs up something in me that would rather stay asleep. So, I belong at CHS. I’ve known it since the day I first set my eyes on it. A bit cliché, but true. Plus, as to all my other friends, we’ll still keep in touch, right?
You know who your true friends are when, even 2 years after there’s no chance of you seeing each other again, you’re still in touch daily. Even more so when your friends accept to send you handwritten letters. (For the record, we gave up on handwritten letters after I got email, but it still touches me how nice my friends are.)

Another one of my friends, one I haven’t seen in a while, is going to CHS as well. I’m kind of (okay, scratch that, I’m really excited) to see her again and go to high school with her. Again, going full circle. We both have other close friends now, though, so it’s going to be awkward, but hey, I’m convinced we can make it work. So many people come together there, and I’m happy to be a part of that. New friends, old friends, and hopefully I’ll meet some new people. High school is going to be AMAZING if I can make it work. And I’m convinced I can.

I’m also really happy I get to take Lit at CHS. I’ve wanted to take it since grade six, so in a number of ways, it’s a dream come true. I’ve always loved writing. That’s part of the reason why I started this blog. So yeah, I better start taking this blog more seriously.

Leave a Reply

