Rambling About Ideas, Writing, and School

I haven’t written a post since November. I really do suck at this whole blogging thing. But I have been really busy with school work and summatives and exams. This is high school, people. Dying. This semester is starting out pretty strong. Report cards are coming out tomorrow for last semester (AAHH!!!), I have 3 projects at the same time going on in lit, and I am rediscovering my artist side. I’ve never really been a traditional artist, and I sort of suck at drawing, but I’ve always been into the physical things, such as sewing, knitting, jewellery design/ making, and photography. I am discovering the joy of keeping a sketchbook, and I am also discovering just how annoying is it to blend with coloured pencils. It is a pain.

I did read the new Unwanteds Quests book that came out about seven days ago. It wasn’t as disappointing as the last two books in the main series, but it wasn’t nearly as satisfying and it feels like the shortest Unwanteds book yet. I don’t know if it is though, because I read it in ebook format, since a physical copy was just sort of like a hassle to get a hold of. In fact, I’ve discovered a lot of new authors and book series through ebooks. Some of them are kind of shitty, and some of them are straight up garbage, but some of them are actually good and then I just binge read them. One such author was Shannon Hale, who wrote the Books of Bayern series. Do check them out, because they are great and amazing and awesome.

We are starting Sci-Fi in lit and I have no clue where to start. Half of the time I am like AAHHH! and the other half of the time I am like HOW DO YOU DO THIS!!! and all of the time I am like I HAVE NO GOOD IDEAS!!!! HELP!!! because it is true. I don’t know what I was thinking, but somehow when I was auditioning I didn’t think we were going to be writing fantasy or sci-fi or dark shit but our first assignment was to write a horror story. No dark shit indeed. Right.

So as much as I love complaining, I am going to have to pull myself together, because you can’t just be in a writing program and then not write. Not writing will not get you any better at writing so I get just have to sit my butt down nd do the damn work. The other thing is, I really need to work on my deep thinking skills. Also on letting my mind wander, and then capturing those thoughts. I get my best ideas at times when I can’t really record them, like when I’m in the shower or when I’m in the middle of doing a mindless task such as, I don’t know, washing dishes. The ideas flit by and disappear as quickly as they come, and then what I end up remembering, if I remember anything, is a colourless, washed out, unrecognizable version of my previous idea. Bummer. See, we all have problems. Some of us struggle with getting good concepts. Some of us struggle with executing them.

So, most of the time, I end up sitting down during a very uncreative time and brainstorming. My version of brainstorming is writing down everything I can think of until I fill at least 2 pages, handwritten in my messy handwritting. It’s sort of like a really messy free write. I always handwrite it because pens are comforting, but also because working on paper just helps my ideas glide better, I guess. Then I usually go and bounce my generally horrible ideas off of other people, because it really helps to refine or broaden or add on to a concept. You’d be surprised at how many good ideas will come out of a conversation. Just saying.

So, that was my rant of the day. I hope I see you soon in another post!

-Rebeeks

Leave a Reply

